Become a Friend of the Newcastle Poetry Festival 2018!


The theme of this year’s festival is Crossings and will take place from 2-5 May 2018.

Now in its fourth year, the Newcastle Poetry Festival has become one of the foremost poetry festivals in the UK and a key date in the calendar for poetry outside of London.

NCLA want to offer you a chance to become a Friend of the Festival. As a Friend, you will receive the following benefits:


  • A ticket to our Newcastle Poetry Festival launch party hosted by Jackie Kay on Thursday 15 March 2018
  • A ticket to the Newcastle Poetry Festival opening night reception with Jorie Graham on Wednesday 2 May 2018
  • An exclusive Newcastle Poetry Festival tote bag with a copy of The Mighty Stream: Poems in Celebration of Martin Luther King edited by Carolyn Forché and Jackie Kay (Bloodaxe Books, 2017)
  • 10 % discount on a Festival Pass (includes events at the Sage Gateshead and Northern Stage)


To become a friend is one payment of £25. Cheques (payable to Newcastle University) may be posted to: Melanie Birch, NCLA, Newcastle University, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE1 7RU. We also accept online payments via Webstore.

The deadline for becoming a Friend is Wednesday 14 March 2018. If you would like to discuss becoming a Friend, we’d be happy to answer any questions. You can reach the NCLA office at 0191 208 7619 or email

We hope you will become a Friend of the Newcastle Poetry Festival. Your support is invaluable to us and allows us to continue to deliver high quality poetry events in the North East. We look forward to welcoming you to this year’s Festival!


Linda Anderson and Sinéad Morrissey

Directors of the Newcastle Poetry Festival


The Newcastle Poetry Festival gratefully acknowledges the generous support from the following individuals: 

Shona Allan
Marion Anderson
Lindsay Balderson
Keith Bennett
Ed Chambers
Maureen Crawford
Judith Dryhurst
Imogen Forster
Linda France
Cynthia Fuller
Annie Harrison
Joan Hewitt
Rowland Hill
Geoff Hough
Marilyn Longstaff
Chris Lord
Anne Maney
Marie McHugh
Rosemary Mitchell-Schuitevoerder
Sigrid Newman
MaryAnne Perkins
Tom Richardson
Diane Slaney
Sue Spencer
Elizabeth Smith
Liz Young